Incubating Help-Along

Discussion in 'Incubation & Hatching' started by Chloe88, May 21, 2013.

1. Chloe88

Chloe88 New Member

I put in my first egg in the incubator on May 7... Now the oldest egg is on Day 15 of incubation... And yesterday I had a terrible scare. The POWER went out, and my eggs were cold for roughly six hours... But when I candled them the next day, most of them are still moving & alive. How is that even possible? ?? ? :eek:

Anyway, could someone enlighten me on the whole lockdown thing? And how am I supposed to keep an even humidity when I can't open up the incubator. :confused:

Also, the eggs in my incubator are all at different ages. Will this be a problem? How can I deal with it?

This is my first time at incubating... That's probably why I'm so disorganized.

2. Apyl

Apyl New Member

Eggs can cool down for a period of time and still live. But they can not be overheated for an extended period of time. With the cool down it will slow the chick growth so it may take an additional day or two to hatch.

As for doing a staggered hatch, I would not recommend it. During lock down you need to leave the incubator shut and not turn the eggs, but the other eggs still need turning ..... see the problem. Sometimes the younger unturned eggs hatch but other time they died because they are not being turned. So personally I would leave the staggered hatches to when you have years of experience and a good hatch rate. I understand you already did it, so basically just cross your fingers and hope the eggs survive.

Good luck. :)

3. Chloe88

Chloe88 New Member

Thanks for the info. I know staggered hatch is a bad policy, bbuuut I have a large incubator and room for eggs to turn & hatch. I didn't know that eggs would take longer to hatch if cooled over roughly six hours. Good to know... I would have thrown some eggs out possibly if you hadn't told me. :eek:

4. cherrypie2181

cherrypie2181 New Member